Fakultas Ilmu Budaya


Airlangga University, which was founded in 1954, originally had five faculties, including the Faculty of Letters based in Denpasar, Bali. However, in 1962, the faculty separated from Airlangga University Surabaya. Meanwhile, the determination to have a Faculty of Letters at Universitas Airlangga is still firmly entrenched among some academics. Dr. Ma’rifin Husin, dr., M.A., who was then Vice Chancellor IV Universitas Airlangga, asked Maartni Biran, Dra. to pave the way for realizing that determination. As the embryo, a Language Laboratory was established in 1975 which has the main task of managing the teaching of English for Airlangga University students. The next step, among others, is to complete the hardware (hardware), and software (software), as well as the Language Laboratory.

The plan to establish a Faculty of Letters first appeared in the Development Master Plan (RIP) in 1980-1990. This plan is also followed by concrete steps, including:
  • Recruitment of English Literature and Language lecturers from various universities outside Airlangga University since 1981. While waiting for the establishment of the Faculty of Letters, the lecturers were placed in the Faculty of Social and Political Sciences (FISIP).
  • Establishment of a Committee to Explore the Establishment of a Faculty of Letters, with the result of proposing the opening of two study programs to the Director General of Higher Education, namely English Literature and Indonesian Literature within FISIP.
  • On November 13, 1989 the Indonesian Language and Literature Study Program and the English Language and Literature Study Program were officially established.
  • Opening of the History Study Program, which was then officially established on March 13, 1998.

Furthermore, the desire of the Faculty of Letters academic community to continue to develop themselves into a large, independent, and growing faculty has underpinned the formation of the Committee for the Establishment of the Japanese Literature Study Program in 2000. In 2006 the Faculty of Letters, Universitas Airlangga received permission to open an undergraduate Japanese Literature Study Program.

In connection with the development of the study of Literature and History which leads to cultural studies accompanied by the number of students taking the theme of the thesis with the theme of Cultural Studies and the core science of Literature and History which is more appropriate as a study of Literature and Culture, the Faculty of Letters changed its name became the Faculty of Humanities (FIB) Universitas Airlangga BHMN with the Rector’s Decree No. 3292/J03/OT/2008 dated April 10, 2008. The change in the name of the faculty was adapted to the desire to facilitate, expand, and develop multidisciplinary scientific studies in the realm of the study of cultural sciences (humanities). The name change has also been adjusted to the direction of the development of Universitas Airlangga BHMN in the form of developing two superior towers in the field of science, namely the health sciences and social-humanities sciences towers.

Indonesian Language and Literature Program
English Language and Literature Program
History Program
Japanese Studies Program
Open chat
Ada yang bisa kami bantu ?